Rules And Regulations

#FFFFFF
Link to CDEC Provider Hub
#FFFFFF
Colorado Child Care Regulations

Colorado Revised Statutes

Child Care Facility Licensing Rules

Colorado Child Care Assistance Program Rules

Printer-friendly Rules Regulating Child Care Facilities

The Secretary of State's website is your official source for updated and current rules.

The below printer-friendly rules have been created for your convenience.

Administrative Guides for Rules Regulating Child Care Facilities

The Division of Early Care and Learning is developing administrative guides to accompany rules regulating child care facilities. The guide serves to clarify, and ensure the proper and consistent interpretation and implementation of, child care rules. The guide also provides the rationale behind rules and links to resources to help programs comply with the rules.​

Available Guides

Interpretive Memorandums
  • 2011-03: Infant/Toddler Department - Approved Course of Training (EQIT) - April 25, 2011
  • 2011-06: Pyramid Plus - Approved Course of Training Meeting Child Guidance Course Equivalency
  • 2012-03: Pre-School Children under an IEP Being Alone with IEP Professional
New Center Resources

Click here to access the folder containing forms and checklists for licensed child care programs. The folder includes the following: 

  • Consultation Form on for Non-Health & Safety Rules
  • Child Care Center Inspection Requirements this is a checklist for existing rules and new health & safety rules that are effective 12/1/2021
  • Statement of Policies and Procedures Checklist for Child Care Centers
  • Children’s Records Form
  • Staff Records Form
  • Emergency Drill Log
  • Early Childhood Teacher and Director Substitute Log
  • Staff Signature Page
  • Child Abuse Reporting Form
  • Director Qualification Chart
  • Early Childhood Teacher Qualification Chart

The Department of Early Childhood  will be providing a statewide waiver for licensed family child care home providers as an emergency relief effort to support families struggling to find infant and toddler care throughout the state. Licensed providers will not be required to submit any additional paperwork to utilize this option. The family child care home waiver reduces the current age requirement that allows a licensed provider to care for 2 children under 2 years of age to now care for 2 children under the age of 18 months.  

Family Child Care Home Waiver

Starting December 15, 2021:

  • A regular family child care home licensed provider will be allowed to care for up to two children under the age of 18 months.
  • A three under two licensed provider can care for three children under the age of 18 months and no more than 2 under 12 months.
  • A large family child care home licensed provider can care for two children under the age of 18 months.  
  • The experienced licensed provider chart will now allow for the following options for caring for children under 18 months, with no more than 2 children under 12 months.

Questions? Contact the Child Care Licensing & Administration Unit:

Child Care Licensing and Administration
Division of Early Care and Learning, CDE

1575 Sherman Street, 1st Floor
Denver, CO 80203
Phone: 1-800-799-5876 or 303-866-5948
Fax: 303-866-4453
cdec_communications@state.co.us